Sign in to follow this  
BrandonV

2.5D Beat em' Up Development Theory

BrandonV    100
Hi everyone,

I am an independent aspiring developer attempting to create a Actionscript 3 Flash game.
Currently I am working on a project I can describe as a 2.5 dimensional Beat 'em Up game, similar to games like Castle Crashers and the Double Dragon series. This means two dimensional graphics with three dimensional gameplay. I am still in the early stages of development, and am working primarily on the programming aspects as of yet.

My questions arise from deciding how to implement this style of 2D graphics and 3D gameplay. I'm curious if there's a proper way of designing and architecting such a project.
Some solutions I've contemplated are:

[list][*]Implement a 3D engine and use 2D-esque models and skins, similar to a paper puppet show. Some pros of this are that things like physics and depth are native components that come with using 3D, making those aspects pretty easy on me as a programmer. However, I imagine this would be pretty resource intensive, and maybe even unnecessary. It seems to me like an overweight solution, and I don't know if this is a viable strategy. I haven't tried this yet and can't really offer any more thoughts on this.[*]Use 2D graphics and a 2D physics engine and simulate depth (what I am currently using). The idea behind this is to separate the mathematics (collision, depth) half from the graphics half. The 2D engine uses geometric shapes to represent the gameplay objects, and they interact with each other from a top-down perspective, with physics, like the minimap of a real-time strategy game. The graphics are handled separately.