Sign in to follow this  
Pok

Hey guys, I'm REALLY new to this.

Hey everybody, I just joined the forums a little while ago, hoping to become a regular and get to know people.
But, I honestly don't know much about developing games, I'm 14, and games has been part of my life and still is and I want to learn more about creating games, coding, art and all the stuff involved in, I'm pretty stupid when it comes to knowledge about game development currently... But I'm willing to learn.
At the moment i'm on a MacBook, so I'm not sure what programmes would be best for me, although I do have access to a Windows 7 Computer but not all the time.

So, I was just wondering if somebody could start me off in the right direction to get this rolling, any help/info/tips would be amazing!

Well it all depends of what you are intrested of.. Myself i like programming so if you want that i would recomend getting a book or reading on the web about C++ and get some knowledge in that field.. I think for Mac there is an compiler or IDE called Xcode or sometthing that you should use if you want programming.

Just so you know.. This question gets asked every day on this forum.. I recomend next time use the Search function for the forum.

I'll have a look into different parts and see what interests me! ^-^ Thanks.

Yeah sorry, I was really hesitant and didn't check other posts or anything for more information. D:

I would not suggest you to learn C++ as it is very complicated especially for a guy at your age, also it is unnessecary and might scare you away.

If you could use Windows OS then I would suggest you to pick up a book on C# game programming. It is very powerful and you could develop games for desktop, web, phone and so on, all with one programming language. Other then that, Java is pretty easy and so is Python if you want to learn a language.

GameMaker another powerful game creation tool, however, I am not very familiar with it and Im not sure how well it behaves on a Mac.