Sign in to follow this  
omkohmann

Programming graphics for games references?

omkohmann    100
Hi,

Ive been doing programming for 3 years in school now. I have the last year focused my programming topics towards game programming. I have gone through topics like SDL, OGL, GLSL and basic game programming topics. I have also gone a 3d android game engine and a simple 2d engine using sdl & OGL.

My last topic was GLSL and we learnt how to create basic shaders up to geometry shaders. I have a acceptable understanding of linear algebra :)

My problem is: None of the books I have used talks about these topics in relation to games! For instance: There is no topic discussing how to implement shaders into a game, I assume u need more than one shader :P
I started trying to create my own "engine" of sorts this summer and quickly realised how many decisions I couldnt take, because I didnt know how to implement several things.
I have been using the book "Game engine architecture" and I quickly came to a halt when starting to think about how to render the world. I wanted to take my current knowledge and tie it up together to get a better understanding of games. I dont expect it to be a super fancy engine, but I wanted to push my learning to the max and I especially wanted to learn more about how to implement shaders into a realtime game engine.

So my question is: Are there any books out there, that covers the topics that I am after? I mean stuff like: bin/quad/oct-trees, shader permutations, shader trees, ubershader, scenegraphs, +++
Basically: The stuff AROUND the shaders/graphics.

Current books I own: red/blue/orange book, "Core Techniques and Algorithms in Game programming", "Game coding Complete", "Game Engine Architecture", "Video Game optimization", "Essential Mathematics for games & interactive applications".

I have not gone through them all in detail, as I feel that I am currently in limbo somewhere between the beginner books and intermediate books.