• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

joshuad53

Side Scrollers

This topic is 6176 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I had a quick question. Are side scrollers a good start for game programming, I have been programming for a few years but haven’t done any games. I am good at c/c++, with some directx 7/8, but don’t have any real game experience. If so does anyone know of any good material on the Internet about side scroller programming? If so thanks in advance. Joshua Davis

Advertisement
I am sorry to say that I can''t think of any particular site. I can tell you a few basics though. By the way, you are very lucky to be using directx because it has hardware clipping. You will get plenty of bad bugs without it. I can tell you that you are going to have to make a bunch of bitmaps of pictures, give them a number representation in the game and make a file that has a bunch of numbers of where to put those pictures. For tile 0, you might want to have transparent so that you can see a slower moving 2d paralax view in the background to represent something far away that you do not go to. When starting to make the game first try making it without the player itself.