Sign in to follow this  
Levistus

Python/Pygame or C#/XNA

Hi guys. I want to know which programming language should I choose between the two. I'm aiming in making small games like Flash games and hope to be able to port it to other platforms. But of course I do plan to move into bigger projects so I don't want to limit myself to just Flash.

Here's a sample game that I like. [url="http://armorgames.com/play/12141/kingdom-rush/?ref=IRONHIDEWEB"]Kingdom Rush[/url]. It is made from Flash. I like the cute graphics and maybe I can make other genre of games with the same/close to this art style. I want to make games for a living so I want to target more platforms if I can.

Btw I chose these two cause they're the most suggested so I can make games faster.

Thank you.

If you never had experience with programming before i would suggest go with Python's Pygame and you can mess around make som cool games there..
Otherwise if you did programming before go for XNA its fun and powerful!

[quote name='TheCompBoy' timestamp='1313356687' post='4849099']
If you never had experience with programming before i would suggest go with Python's Pygame and you can mess around make som cool games there..
Otherwise if you did programming before go for XNA its fun and powerful!
[/quote]

So I start with Python and will I transition into other languages in the future?

How about portability to other platforms? Is Python good with that?

Thanks.

Well I personally recommend C# and XNA because It's an powerful and easy to learn/use language!
XNA has a large community ( Don't know bout PyGame ) and is very robust!

Though C# and XNA is a bit tricky to port correctly to different platforms like iOSX and Linux.
MonoGame might be worth looking into though I don't know how much of a help it is...

For Python, I'll let another fill in why Python is a good choice...