Sign in to follow this  
raidzero

Questions regarding copyright and licenses

So I've been working on developing a game, though I'm not good at creating graphics so I grab a couple of images of some sites.
Some of the images I have are completely free to use to my knowledge and some are for non-commercial use.

Can I send copies of my game to other people? I am in no way receiving cash or any other sort of..payment?..

I've also gotten some lines of code off the internet. Can I send my game to other people still?
What about for commercial use? Do I need to rewrite the codes I've taken or...

To summarize this I'm unsure of what I can and can't use in my freeware and the final product. Final product as in commercial.

What does happen when you do infringe upon copyright? Do you get sued right away or do you have chance to stop your product?

[quote name='Key' timestamp='1313379410' post='4849237']
1. I grab a couple of images of some sites. I've also gotten some lines of code off the internet.
2. Can I send copies of my game to other people?
3. I am in no way receiving cash or any other sort of..payment?..
4. What about for commercial use?
5. What does happen when you do infringe upon copyright?
6. Do you get sued right away
7. or do you have chance to stop your product?
[/quote]
1. Bad idea. Read [url="http://www.sloperama.com/advice/faq61.htm"]FAQ 61[/url].
2. Bad idea.
3. Doesn't matter.
4. Absolutely not. You must create your own, or use under license.
5. You can get sued. You'll have to pay court expenses and lawyer expenses, maybe for yourself and the IP owner.
6. No, not until you get caught by the IP owner.
7. You'll probably be ordered to.