Sign in to follow this  
GraySnakeGenocide

Having trouble understanding how to use Optional/Named Parameters in C# 4.0

The only thing I can really seem to "get" when it comes to Optional Parameters, is that they are used mainly to help lower the usage of Method Overloads. I don't really get what they're used for, how to use them correctly, and WHY to use them.

As for Named Parameters, the only thing I can understand is that they allow you to use the parameters in a varied order, instead of going int a, then int b, then int c, you could use them by using b first, then c, then a, etc.

I'm still a beginner, so forgive me if these are stupidly simple concepts that I'm not grasping >_>.

If/when examples are provided, could you guys be so kind as to use regular methods/parameters. I haven't learned about lists, etc yet.

I haven't dealt with named parameters in C#, but I've dealt with them in Python.

Typically the reasons for named parameters are:

* Code clarity: When looking at the calling code, it is more clear exactly what role each passed-in parameter plays
* Access to default values: Many languages contain default parameter values but not named parameters. In these setups there is no good way to use the default values of any parameter you want. it's kind of hard to explain, so here's some code.

[code]

// a function with default parameters
void SomeFunc(int a, int b=3, int c=4, int d=5);

void CallingCode()
{
// I can call SomeFunc using all parameters
SomeFunc(1, 2, 3, 4);

// I can take the default value of the 'd' parameter
SomeFunc(1, 2, 3);

// I can take the default values of 'c' and 'd'
SomeFunc(1, 2);

// and even the default values of 'b', 'c', and 'd'
SomeFunc(1);

// but how would I pass in values for ONLY 'c', but take the default parameters for 'b' and 'd'?
// this is impossible in C++, unless you use a hack, such as forcing the caller to specify some non-value that means "use the default"
// here '-1' means "use the default"