Sign in to follow this  
Sk8ash

DX11 Beginning Radiosity

Sk8ash    100
Hi I'm currently a games development student about to go into my third and final year and for my project I'm writing a global illumination renderer in DirectX10 using HLSL, the past couple weeks I've been stuck deciding what to use for indirect illumination, I've read countless articles on the radiosity method as well as the different techniques (PRT, instant radiosity, radiosity normal mapping, irradiance volumes etc...). I've read every single forum post on here that mentions radiosity and also MJP's DX11 radiosity method.

I have no idea which technique would be best to use, and when i decide on one I get very confused about where to start, would anybody care to offer help and suggestions ? Cheers

My renderer needs to be able to run at interactive speeds (for games)

MJP    19786
Well the first thing you'll need to decide whether you're looking to use precomputed global illumination, or something that works in real time. Also if you want to do the latter there are techniques that work with static geometry but dynamic lighting, as well as techniques that allow for both to be fully dynamic. Deciding on this will narrow down the field considerably.

Sk8ash    100
I'm hoping to do static geometry with dynamic lights and then if I get that done maybe check out dynamic geometry. I've been leaning more towards the instant radiosity method with the VPL's.

glaeken    294
If you happen to go with instant radiosity with VPLs, I've got an example of that with Nvidia's ray-tracing library Optix and DirectX: http://graphicsrunner.blogspot.com/2011/03/instant-radiosity-using-optix-and.html

Sk8ash    100
Cheers, obviously this technique works well with deferred shading, but I'm not looking to build a deferred renderer so does anyone recommend a better technique to use with forward rendering ?

MJP    19786