Sign in to follow this  
Gumm

2D Beginner

Hello Guys!

I am an absolute beginner, but I do have a lot of experience in IT, networking and a very small amount of programming (assembly). My request is this; I am looking for a tool to design and program a 2D computer game, perhaps to the standard of the old 16-bit games of yesteryear. I am interesting in programming, but not in advanced mathematics and physics etc. I am just interested in telling stories with some simple gameplay.

I had a look at Game Maker, but it didn't seem programmable enough. Any decent suggestions?

Thanks in advance,

Gumm

I don't know, Game Maker DOES seem like a good solution for you.
It requires a little bit of programming, but it isn't very complicated, it's a good beginner's tool, and you can learn alot about programming by using it, you get to learn all the basics of programming, but as far as I know, you don't need to meddle with mathes and physics in programmatic code in it.

Now, while for physics you might be able to live your developing life without learning thoroughly, mathemetics are a very big part of programming in general, you won't really be able to avoid it if you want to make a game, even in even less programmable tools.

Still, seeing by your post, I would assume that you didn't actually try Game Maker, and only heard/read/saw/whatever it before, I say, you've got nothing to lose, just try getting in to it, worst case scenario, you'll come off with a little more knowledge than you came in with. And if that does prove too much in the end, you can always go to higher level tools, like RPG Maker.

P.S. I don't know much about this, but I hear that Stencyl is also a good tool, it uses AS3 to manage scripts, it might also be good for you.

I actually have used Game Maker, but it was scripty, not programmatic. I didn't like the application too much and was wondering whether there was anything else.