Sign in to follow this  
Alucard_Z

Requesting some direction

Alucard_Z    122
First of all thank you kindly for viewing this forum post.

Before I ask my questions I will give a quick summary on my background without making it too boring.

I'm an avid gamer who intended to get into the game industry but ended up a bit side tracked. I completed my university degree in CS in the mid 2000's and then ended up in Japan around the time the economy went in the crapper. After teaching there a year I came back home to Canada and landed a couple of jobs in software but they were not gaming related. One was a project management position and the other is was as a Java developer. I've just about had it writing the proverbial TPS report and need to get into games either as an indie or get picked up by someone.

[u]Applicable Skills[/u]: Java/C/C++
(My C++ is a bit rusty but it shouldn't be a problem)
(I've dabbled in DirectX and had some experience with OpenGL at school for my graphics course)

[u]Team[/u]- Currently just myself. A buddy of mine and myself are currently involved on a board game project together and he enjoys design but is no coder

[u]Type of game(s) I'm looking to make[/u]:

I'm going to maybe start off with some more basic games first but what I really want to make is a strategy rpg/turn based strategy game akin to disgaea, final fantasy tactics, front mission, etc and a civ style game somewhat like the old warlords series.

Part of my problem is that there are so many things I want to make. It's sometimes hard to stay focused on just one. It's like wanting to run before you can walk.

[u]So here is my dilemma:[/u]

1. Do I start tying to code my game from scratch in C++ using direct X? It seems like using an existing engine seems to be recommended. Not sure the best type of engine to use for the types of games I want to make. (yes if I do everything from scratch it will lengthen dev time significantly but is it worth it?)