Art Style (Zelda Wind Waker)

Started by
9 comments, last by Darkbouncer4689 12 years, 8 months ago
Hey all,

I'm hoping to get some help from some experienced artists/graphics programmers on determining what needs to be implemented in a game engine to support an art style similar to Zelda's wind waker.

A few images can be located here:
[media]http://www.n-sider.com/media/windwaker-r-3.jpg[/media]
[media]http://www.n-sider.com/media/windwaker-r-1.jpg[/media]
[media]http://www.n-sider.com/media/windwaker-r-2.jpg[/media]
[media]http://www.n-sider.com/media/windwaker-r-4.jpg[/media]

To me it looks like they just use some bright colors and a little bit of shadowing, but I'm a noob and inexperienced.

I'm not completely dedicated to this art style but I am hoping to be able to have lightweight models (low vertex count, low animation costs, low texturing quality) while still having a decent looking game, and I suspect that these cartoonish NPR art styles can accomplish that.
Advertisement
Your image links are broken for me.

I personally don't like wind-waker's graphics, but you might want to talk to the person who wrote this recently in the art forum:

Wind-Waker's graphics [...] I loved them, and have modeled quite a few things off of them.

I want to help design a "sandpark" MMO. Optional interactive story with quests and deeply characterized NPCs, plus sandbox elements like player-craftable housing and lots of other crafting. If you are starting a design of this type, please PM me. I also love pet-breeding games.

I personally don't like wind-waker's graphics, but you might want to talk to the person who wrote this recently in the art forum:

I'm not in love with them either, but I need low performance graphics and I assume they will deliver. Any comments on that topic?

Thanks =)

[quote name='sunandshadow' timestamp='1313960308' post='4852008']