• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
dedesite

OpenGL [solved] Save a Texture with DevIL

This topic is 2645 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi everybody,

I've been a game developer (mostly tools) for 2 and a half years and now I'm working as a web developer but still doing some game development stuff as amateur :).

I try to save 32 and 16bits OpenGL textures into a file using DevIL which seems to be a very simple library.

Since my knowledge in OpenGL and DevIL is a bit limited, I'm kind of stuck... and I can't find any tutorial explaining how to do it.

Here is approximately what I do (I've simplified the code just to let the OpenGL+DevIL part) :

#include "IL/il.h"
#include "IL/ilu.h"
#include "IL/ilut.h"

void save_texture(GLuint texture)
{
int width = 128;
int height = 128;

glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, texture);
glCopyTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D,0,GL_RGB,0, 0, width, height,0);

ILuint img_size = sizeof(BYTE) * width * height * 3;
BYTE *raw_img = (BYTE*) malloc(img_size);
glGetTexImage(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL_RGB, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, raw_img);

if(raw_img != NULL)
{
//Then save it using devil
ILuint ImgId = 0;
ilInit();
ilGenImages(1, &ImgId);
ilBindImage(ImgId);

//I don't know if ilCopyPixel is the right function to call
ilCopyPixels(0, 0, 0, width, height, 1, IL_RGB, IL_BYTE, raw_img);

ilSaveImage("Test.png");

ilDeleteImages(1, &ImgId);
}

free(raw_img);
}

The problem is that DevIL can't save the texture cause there is nothing in it (but raw_img is not null).
I assume that ilCopyPixels is not the right function to call but I've tried with ilSetPixels, ilSetDatas etc. and got the same result.

Am I missing something ?

Other question : how should I do to save 16 bits textures (GL_RGB5 format) since DevIL doesn't seems to manage 16 bits textures formats ? (DevIL format list)