Inverse Kinematics, Character animation, direct3d tutorials...

Started by
7 comments, last by ByteMe95 22 years, 6 months ago
I have a bunch of questions, so I figured I''d throw them all into one post. I recently subscribed to GD magazine and all I see and hear about is inverse kinematics. From what I can understand from my readnig is that it has something to do with character animation, but i dont really know what, anyone know?? secondly, what is the best way/ how is character animation is done. From what I know u load a 3d model with pre-set key frames and interpolate through them (I''ve never done any of these things but would love to at some point). And does anyone know where there are good direct3d tutorials out there, I cant find any good ones, only on DX8 though! I am new to the 3d world, I have a pretty god understandign of it and have practiced a bit in opengl, but would like to finally learn d3d now (I know older versions of dx with ddraw pretty much perfectly). If anyone can answer any or all qwuestions feel free. I dont expect detailed answers at all, just generally so I can understand it. Let me throw a couple more questions in actually: vertex/pixel shaders, what are they EXACTLY? I kind of know, but then when u speak of rpogrammable vertex/pixel shaders I have no idea what that is. OOOOH, almost forgot, what the hell does the stencil buffer do and how does it work/what is it used for? What is a mesh deformation/what is it used for? and i think that should do for now. Thanks - Rob ByteMe95::~ByteMe95() Cerebrum Software
ByteMe95::~ByteMe95()My S(h)ite
Advertisement
You ask too many questions...

IK = Joints which have constraints in rotation and have a constant distance between one another (with normal keyframed interpolation this is not guaranteed).

Get the DX8 SDK documentation for the best explanation on shaders, stencilbuffers etc.

David Hof
Destiny3D engine programmer
mail - icq - homepage
-------homepage - email