• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Venetician

Assembly

This topic is 6176 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

What do you recommened as far as books/tutorials for learning? Game companies are still looking for people that can code Assembly, and I am looking into it. I am a programmer sufficient in C and C++. Please help me out, Thanks.

Advertisement
While I''m not sure how much you should really be concerned about learning assembly, I''ve been learning assembly from "Assembly language step-by-step", second edition. It''s a far cry from a full treatment of the instruction set, but it''s made asm so easy to learn, I could almost like writing in asm. ;-)

Really though, be prepared for alot of hard work. In order to optimise code with ASM, you''ll need to be damn good. Microsoft''s and Borland''s compiler engineers are pretty slick. Most compiled C/C++ code is pretty tight.

Anyways I picked up the book to get a better understanding of computer hardware. Let me tell you, it''s a new world of programming when you _really_ understand what happens when you execute something like : x = 7 + 18; Do you know how many instructions that takes? Anyways, I''ve rambled enough =)

"So much fun, so little time."
~Michael Sikora

See my reply to another assembly question in this forum:
http://www.gamedev.net/community/forums/topic.asp?topic_id=60813

quote:

In order to optimise code with ASM, you''ll need to be damn good. Microsoft''s and Borland''s compiler engineers are pretty slick. Most compiled C/C++ code is pretty tight.