• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Web game - what language?

This topic is 2352 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Im trying to find out which language would be best for my game.

game is
- running in browser
- 2D graphics
- multiplayer
- turn based(board turn based)

I was thinking that PHP could be able to deal with it easily, but I'm no PHP programmer, so I have my doubts here.
Java could do this as well, but I don't think its ideal.

Are there any better options. Im kinda noob when it comes to web technologies.

Advertisement
I would say "use flash!" right away. But I honestly havent made more than single player flash games, so I'm not able to talk about the viability of the multiplayer part of your question.

And php is a web language, I would be surprised if you could make a 2d game with it (really surprised, but someone can come here and surprise me, making me feel like an idiot, lmao)

You are asking about the server side component of the game, right? For the client, you're pretty much going to have to be using Javascript.

I've never written any server side Java code for something like this, and have written a lot of PHP for similar uses, so my opinion is probably a bit biased. I would recommend PHP in this case.

PHP will provide a lot of things out of the box that you will need for this sort of thing, such as session handling, database connectivity (assuming you want to store user info or gameplay state snapshots), JSON parsing (very useful when communicating with Javascript in a browser) and tons of online resources.

Don't be worried about performance, PHP is more than suited for something like this.

Java could probably do this just as well, but I would at least suspect it would be more work to get it set up communicating with a Javascript client than PHP.