• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
sheep19

New to programming on Linux

This topic is 2629 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello. I am a college student. I know C and C++ and so far I have been practicing them on WIndows on my own and on Linux (Cent OS) at university.

On Linux, I know how to create a makefile and make some targets. But how do I specify to the compiler to create a lib file? (I know it's not a .lib like Windows. I mean the corresponding file type on Unix systems).
Also, how do I include a directory ? E.g I want to include the headers in SDL. How do I do that?
And last, how do I link libraries (those that I have made or others have). In visual studio it is #pragma comment(lib, "libName.lib")

Thank you in advance for your answers :)

Edit: I forgot to mention I am using g++

Advertisement
You can send options to the linker using the '-l' switch (that's a lower case L, not a capital i) and specify include folders using -I (a capital i) aswell as tons of other command line options that GCC uses. If you're not familiar with a *nix environement you'll have to count on relearning alot compared to windows :) My suggestion for you is to install an IDE like Code::Blocks, CodeLite, QtCreator, Anjuta, KDEvelop or Netbeans, then you don't have to worry about makefiles atleast.

To answer your question on how to compile a SDL application:

gcc `sdl-config --cflags` yourfile.cpp `sdl-config --libs`

or you can set the compiler/linker options manually:

gcc -I/usr/include/SDL yourfile.cpp -lSDL

On Linux, I know how to create a makefile and make some targets. But how do I specify to the compiler to create a lib file? (I know it's not a .lib like Windows. I mean the corresponding file type on Unix systems).