• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
WiredDrummer

Hello and some questions!

This topic is 2447 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello everyone! I just joined you here at gamedev and I did it because I've always wanted to 'make' a game. I'm currently studying Informatics and Computer Engineering but, needless to say, I haven't learnt anything, so far, that can lead me straight into the game making path. In high school, I decided to learn some C++ and worked with flash, but nothing to big. Anyway, all this just to give you a little perspective of what I might know. So, I'll just move straight to the topic itself. What do you think I should do for starters? As in what language should I 'focus' on and what to try first?

Anymore doubts, just ask!

Cumps,

WiredDrummer.

EDIT: Also, I've read this Guide, but I'm still not sure what to follow :x

Advertisement

What do you think I should do for starters? As in what language should I 'focus' on and what to try first?

Make a list of all the languages that you know of (C#, Java, C++, Actionscript/Flash, Python, etc.) on a paper. But make sure you place them in random locations on the paper. Then, pin the paper up on the wall and start throwing darts at it. The language you hit first is the one you focus on.

Basically what I'm trying to say is it doesn't really matter. Over the course of your life/career in the computer industry, you will learn multiple programming languages and APIs. So don't feel like you'll pick the "wrong" one. There isn't a "wrong" one. They're just tools.