• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

General Approach for Realtime Multiplayer Games

This topic is 2357 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi,
I have written a small engine for 2d games. The only thing which is missing is the networking. I want to allow multiplayer with 2 or more players, probably with one player being the server.

I really got problem realizing it. Are there any general tutorials for network engines? The programming and the tcp/udp stacks are not the problem, I studied informatics. The problem is rather the concepts behind reliable network gaming in non-turn-based games.

This is my current approach:

All player machines calculate the game independently. Because all game actions (including the random generator with same seed) are deterministic, the game should yield the same result on each machine without the necessity to exchange any information. The only point where I need to exchange information is when a player does something. This has to be communicated to all players. I identified some problems with this:

1.) The player action may only be started once all players receive it. This is a major problem. How to ensure that all players receive it in a given time?

2.) What if a machine doesnt receive the action of another player on time (because his network had a short congestion or something)? If the machine continues the simulation beyond the point where the action started, everything is lost, since the engine does not support to go back in time. So this has to be averted at all costs.

The only approach I can think of which solves the problems is a "heartbeat" approach.