• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
SymLinked

Memory Corruption - using third party tools to troubleshoot.

This topic is 2444 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi,

I'm a C++ developer and I keep running into memory corruption issues. To this day I've always been able to fix those errors, but it takes a lot of time which I'd rather spend coding.

I thought MSVC had some sort of memory corruption detection (memory guards?) but they never trigger or show me any useful information. If I'm lucky I sometimes get shown *what* was corrupted, but not when. I even implemented my own memory guards and increased their size to see if I could spot any corruption, but I couldn't. They were perfect.

Mostly the stack trace is corrupted itself - not very useful.

I thought I'd try Purify, Valgrind or Insure++. Are these worth it, in your opinion? Are there any alternatives that won't empty my wallet?

Thanks!

Advertisement
I just tried the Purify trial and it does seem magic. It tells me I got a dozen issues but I can't check any without buying the full version which is a month's salary for me.

Thanks SiCrane! I've tried the Application Verifier before but I can't remember if it helped. I'll try again.

That's one of the options in Application Verifier. It adds a guard page after the end of memory allocations so that you get a access violation upon buffer overrun.

That's one of the options in Application Verifier. It adds a guard page after the end of memory allocations so that you get a access violation upon buffer overrun.

When does it tell me I've overstepped my bounds, upon new/free or upon the actual operation? That's my major gripe with MSVC's debugger.