• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

[XNA/C#] Method for jumping

This topic is 2440 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi people,

I'm a noob in C# and XNA and just started with it. I'm having trouble with the following problem: I'm writing a method that let a object jump, bu I can't get it working. The parameters are an y position (a reference) and the jump spring hight. Down under my code so far:

static void jump(ref float charPosY, float jumpHeight)
{
//Temporary vars
float charStartPosY = charPosY;
float jumpStartHeight = jumpHeight;
bool goDown = false;

//Check if character is not going down, let the man jump!
while (!goDown)
{
for (float i = 0; i <= jumpStartHeight; i++)
{
charPosY -= jumpHeight;
jumpHeight--;
if (i >= jumpStartHeight)
{
//If the man finished jumping, set goDown true
goDown = true;
jumpHeight = 0;
}
}
}

//If our man jumped high enough, let him fall down again
if (goDown)
{
{
charPosY += jumpHeight;
jumpHeight++;
}
}
}

The first part - the jump part of this method - works fine if I comment the "goDown" part (the object jumps then) and also the "falling down"-part works if I comment the jump part. Together it won't work; it looks like the two parts are canceling each other. I think that is a strange thing, because the boolean "goDown" will be activated when the first part is done with the for loop...

I hope anybody have a glue or an answer for me!

Thanks a lot!!

(Sorry if my English isn't that good, I'm Dutch rolleyes.gif)

Advertisement

Hi people,

I'm a noob in C# and XNA and just started with it. I'm having trouble with the following problem: I'm writing a method that let a object jump, bu I can't get it working. The parameters are an y position (a reference) and the jump spring hight. Down under my code so far:

{
//Temporary vars
bool goDown = false;

while (!goDown)
{
{