• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
wildboar

Game Autopatcher

This topic is 2646 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I am working on a small game patcher/launcher and I am wondering if my current plan would work.
This is my first time coding something like this so I want to see that im on the right path.

The Plan:

Client.exe and Launcher.exe have version info inside them

Server refuses client with lesser version that required
Client also has a small check to make sure that launcher is ran first

Launcher gets every single file including inside subdirectories in the current working directory
Launcher makes checksum out of every single file
Sends encrypted string of checksums and filenames to server
server backend accepts, compares local server side client folder and sees what items it needs to send back to client

Launcher overwrites said files

Questions:
Launcher deletes files which no longer used??
Launcher updates itself? how??
What if user drags exe into other folder, will that force server to send entire client to user? this could be abused?

I hope someone can help me thanks :D

Advertisement

Yes. Shouldn't be a problem to delete the files.

Build the launcher so that it doesn't need to be updated. Why update the launcher? It should be kept pretty simple. If you have text data or image data you need to update in the launcher, then maybe it should be set up to just download and display that data inside the launcher without having to replace the actual executable. Even putting everything into a web page that you could update externally would help with that.