• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Unity How do you organize your classes and their respective implementation files?

This topic is 2345 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey Everyone,

Anyways, I am constantly debating with myself about how I should organize and write my code (e.g. where I should put whitespaces, etc.), and once again I am at another dilemma. I want to make my classes look more professionally organized, but because I am mostly a self-taught programmer, I don't get a lot of insight on good ways of organizing my code. So I am asking the GameDev community: How do you guys organize your classes and class implementations? For example, do you structure members first by private and public members, or by declarations and functions? Do you organize your source files in order of where members appear in the header, or by some other method (i.e. alphabetical order)? I was originally going to make this into a poll, but I found my choices were getting way too complicated.

Thanks in advance for all of your feedback. biggrin.gif Please feel free to mention other ways in which you organize your classes!

Advertisement
I feel your pain. Suggest finding a style that you like and then stick to it. Some style guides (I use bitsquid in my personal projects and a style that shall remain unmentioned - for your own safety - at work):
http://google-styleg...nk/cppguide.xml
http://bitsquid.blog...ding-style.html

And some awesome tools that you can set up to automatically reformat your code:
http://uncrustify.sourceforge.net/
http://universalinde...ourceforge.net/

Writing with a consistent style is great and IMO helps readability. So make sure that when you are editing other peoples' code that you use their conventions!

"Suggest finding a style that you like and then stick to it."