Beginner... and I mean BEGINNER... HELP! please

Started by
22 comments, last by Rodaxoleaux 12 years, 7 months ago
Hi, I'm Shane and game development and programming is something I want to start to do, I am young and A total newbie, so maybe you more experienced game programmers and developers could tell me EXACTLY how you started or what to do to get started on the right foot. Oh yeah when I say I am a beginner I mean like I really haven't done much at all, this is why I am turning to the community and trying to get as much info to get my first game up and running :) so please give me an over view of anything I need to know and do too start MY VERY FIRST GAME! thanks!!! :D
Advertisement
Start by reading the FAQ

Start by reading the FAQ

Thanks for the suggestion, I actually already did, it doesn't really give me that much info to get started with. It just tells me a language to start out with :/

[quote name='Jeffreyp' timestamp='1316690244' post='4864610']
Start by reading the FAQ

Thanks for the suggestion, I actually already did, it doesn't really give me that much info to get started with. It just tells me a language to start out with :/
[/quote]

Thats step 1). stepts 2) to 999) are to set yourself a series of problems, of increasing complexity. For example,
Hello world application
Guess the number
Draw sprites on screen
Make ball bounce around
Upgrade ball and make pong or breakout
Make something more complex like pacman
Make a top down shooter
Don't thank me, thank the moon's gravitation pull! Post in My Journal and help me to not procrastinate!

Start by reading the FAQ

[/quote]

use Search facility and also Google for your topic, you will find hundreds
and programming is a lonely work, dont wait for miracles, start coding

That was the time, the Golden Age, when C-64 and Amiga ruled!

Start by reading the FAQ

[/quote]