• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
B_old

GPGPU vs classic shader pipeline: rendering performance

This topic is 2638 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I recently stumbled into a discussion about the performance of GPGPU programs vs that of the "classic" shader pipeline. I have no experience with GPGPU but the argument put forward was, that GPGPU will always be faster because the API layer is thinner while accessing the exact same hardware and because of shared memory also. It kind of made sense to me for filters with large kernels for instance but I assumed that the normal shader pipeline would be faster for rasterizing and shading triangles because of some dedicated hardware.
So, in case I get asked why I use vertex and pixels shaders ect. for rendering, what should I say? :)

Advertisement
So, in case I get asked why I use vertex and pixels shaders ect. for rendering, what should I say? :)

You should say: that is how internals of modern video card work - using shaders. All other things, like FFP, are emulated by driver internally using shaders.
Here's more info how modern video cards work: http://fgiesen.wordpress.com/2011/07/09/a-trip-through-the-graphics-pipeline-2011-index/

Don't confuse GPGPU with rendering using shaders. GPGPU term is used also for computing other things, not only rendering.

GPGPU techniques are most often used to perform generic (non-rendering) computation, not for rendering.

Though, there is some amount of research that has been done to implement rendering using GPGPU methods. For a very recent one, see a paper by Laine and Karras: High-Performance Software Rasterization on GPUs (in High-Performance Graphics 2011). Their measure is that the traditional rendering APIs beat a CUDA-implemented renderer by a factor of 2-8x.