• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
EbonySeraphim

DirectX Button Limit

This topic is 2640 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

This seems like an end-user question, but as a developer, I'm seeking a developers explanation which is why I'm posing here:

I've recently gotten into flight sims and purchased a Thrustmaster Warthog. There are a lot of buttons and switches on the product that add up to 19 buttons on the joystick and 32 on the throttle (2 separate game pads in Windows). In it's native sim/game(DCS:A-10C) it works great because there's direct knowledge of the product I bought, but other sims don't have built in mappings for events such as the release of a specific button (usually switch put in the off or center position, or throttle from OFF to IDLE). This leaves me to attempt to use the Thrustmaster scripting tool which can virtualize a new device with button events generated on arbitrary input events. That is, a release of a physical button can be mapped to a press of a button in the virtual controller -- or even trigger a button hold, etc. Even though I can do this, I still need(ok...maybe want is the operative word) the original 32 buttons but TARGET claims DirectX is capped at 32 buttons, and so do the flight sim forums. This means, I have no where to map the new actions unless I force it to generate keyboard events which would get messy since the sim would have those mapped and I'd have to clobber them.