• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Lord_Vader

OpenMP beginner

This topic is 2631 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello since I am a very beginner at OpenMP I would appreciate if someone could help me to parallelize the following code. I have tried some things like
#pragma omp parallel for shared(sum)
and
#pragma omp parallel for default(none) private(i,j,sum) shared(Iij, quantity, ne, nx)
but I couldn't manage it to work correctly

double sum = 0;
double quantity;
int i,j;

for(i = 1; i < ne; i++)
for(j = 1; j < nx; j++)
{
quantity= some_function(i,j);
sum = sum + quantity;
Iij[i *nx + j] = quantity;
}

thanks a lot

Advertisement
You should prefer to declare variables in the smallest context you can. This is particularly important in this situation, because otherwise OpenMP doesn't know which variables are thread-specific and which are shared.

double sum = 0;

#pragma omp parallel for reduction(+:sum)
for(int i = 1; i < ne; i++) {
for(int j = 1; j < nx; j++) {
double quantity= some_function(i,j);
sum = sum + quantity;
Iij[i *nx + j] = quantity;
}
}

I have simplified it a little

Now I am using the following:

#pragma omp parallel for
for(int i = 1; i <ne; i++)
for(int j = 1; j <nx; j++)
Iij[i *nx + j] = some_function(i,j);

But When I calculate the sum of the matrix I get a different result (probably race conditions?)

I can't tell if some_function(i,j) is thread-safe or not. Post a full program. Keep it as short as possible, please.

The some_function(i,j) is a monte carlo integration algorithm that uses recursion. Unfortunately I can't post the code because is copyrighted but this must be the problem because when I change it with a simpler function
I get correct results.

Any suggestions would be appreciated...