• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
DasZaid

C++ -> Levels & Program Structures.

This topic is 2632 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm new to programming, and I've decided to make a game in C++ and SFML. Just a small one, but nonetheless, a game. It's a SHMUP using the same color pallet and resolution as the Original Game Boy, in the original game boy style. Here's a little concept screenie as to how I want it to look like (Although I'll probably scale it all to 2X so that it is easier to see and play):

concept.PNG

Now my two problems are designing an affective program structure (as well as how to draw one out), and loading/creating levels.

1) Affective Program Structure - I want to learn how to set one of these up to keep things nice and organized, and to avoid spaghetti code like in some of my older programs. If someone would be so kind to explain it out to me or link me to a tutorial on how to make one of these drawings on paper, and to design an effective one to use in my actual program. If I'm being too much of a noob, there's a video online here in which it shows how to design code and the code structure thing, but she never really explains how to draw one of these, and how to make your own to fit your programs needs.

2) Levels - Now, I want to have a system set up to where I create something like a level editor, I create a level in the level editor, and then it saves it to some binary file that then my program can load in, and delete on a whim. But I honestly have no idea where to start with this. I also want to create it all from scratch. If anyone could tell me how I can set one of these systems up, how it would work, ect ect... That would be lovely.

Thank you for taking the time to read this,
++Zaid