3D Space. Moving in it...?

Started by
10 comments, last by Greg K 22 years, 6 months ago
Ok, I have all these components- x, y, z Two angles, a and b Speed I need to move x, y, z in the rotated direction. a = angle YZ and b = angle XZ Y Z | / | / |a/b |/_______X This formula seemed to work. ( A and B start as angles ) // Convert angles to radians fA = DegToRad( fA ); fB = DegToRad( fB ); x -= (float)cos(fA)*fVel; z -= (float)sin(fA)*fVel; y += (float)sin(fB)*fVel; This works until angle B is within the range of 90-270. Then you go the wrong way. I hope this makes sense. I am not very good at explaining things. Basically, I need to know why this does not work in those ranges.
Advertisement
More details please,

What is X,Y,Z?
Is your angles (fa,fb) the angles between the velocityvector and coordinate axis?

/Mankind gave birth to God.
/Mankind gave birth to God.
I had the same exact problem, its annoying isn''t it. I could never figure it out, but I can help give a better explanation.

What happens is this. Say you are in a space ship, you pull up, and do a complete loop, instead of going forwards at the end of the loop, you end up going backwards. I have no clue why that happens, it this Gimble lock? I''ve heard that term, but never really understood it. Oh well, I hope I gave some more light on this problem.
"...."
x, y, and z are coordinates in 3d space.

fA is the angle to rotate around the Y axis and fB is to rotate around the X axis.
Sweet. I figured it out (I think). If I just subtract 180 from the fA then it works great. I kinda hacked it though so if you can give an explanation of why it works then I would be very thankful.
f = sin(240)
a = asin(f)

guess what the value of a is.

1) 240
2) -60
3) a loud rasberry

if you picked 2 you are right. Why?

Sine values go from -90 to 90 (as do cosine). So if you are farting about with values outside this range, you gotta add or subtract 90, 180 90 - ang, 180 - ang.