Sign in to follow this  
Glass_Knife

Circle Line collision trouble

I am studying collision detection, and I am currently trying to implement 2D circle/line collision.
I am using the following article: [url="http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/3383/simple_intersection_tests_for_games.php"]Simple Collision Detection[/url]

I am able to get the algorithm to work, but I have a problem, and I'm not sure how to solve it.
To calculate the normal of the line, I am just picking a perpendicular vector. There are two, if
I understand correctly, and I could use either of them.

[code]
Normal for (x,y) = (-y,x) or (y, -x)
[/code]

Which normal I pick seems to determine which side of the line the collision is calculated.
But I need to pick the normal that is on the same side as the initial circle. I have read a lot of information
about the cross product in 2D, but I am finding lots of information and not all of it makes sense.

I am not even sure if picking the normal is the best way. Does anyone have any experience with this?

Thanks for your time,

What exactly do you want to calculate?
If you know the collision point, you can easily get the surface normal of the circle as normalize(collisionPoint - circleCenter), as every point on the circle is its own normal relative the circle center.

As for line normals, you can easily determine which side of the line you're on, and invert the normal if you're on the wrong side. If you have a line from p0 to p1, and the normal nx, ny calculated from that, calculate the line equation 'ax + by + c = 0'. a, b are the same as nx, ny, and you get c by plugging in a point on the line for x, y and solve for c. Then when you use any point x,y with that equation you get a number that is zero if the point is on the infinite line, or positive or negative depending on which side you're on.