Sign in to follow this  
Ripiz

[C++] Variable in namespace

Hello,

I'm new to namespaces and trying to define PI and 1/PI values inside namespace like this:[code]#pragma once

namespace Math {
const float PI = 3.141592654f;
const float INVPI = 0.318309886f;};[/code]

However I get redefinition error when I include this header more than once. What's the proper way to achieve this?

Thank you.

I thought that #pragma once would prevent this kind of error from happening. How about standard include guards?
[code]#ifndef MATH_H
#define MATH_H
namespace Math {
const float INVPI = 0.318309886f;
}
#endif
[/code]

[quote name='Ripiz' timestamp='1317322834' post='4867302']
Hello,

I'm new to namespaces and trying to define PI and 1/PI values inside namespace like this:[code]#pragma once

namespace Math {
const float INVPI = 0.318309886f;};[/code]

However I get redefinition error when I include this header more than once. What's the proper way to achieve this?

Thank you.
[/quote]
The joy of C++ is that compiler error messages can be incredibly misleading. Often you'll find that the actual error has nothing to do with what the compiler is telling you is the problem.

[i][b]Maybe "Math::PI" is already being included from a different source?[/b][/i]

On a side note, I'm pretty sure that pragmas are non-standard (i.e., compiler specific). So whether or not one will work depends on the compiler being used. The reason for the include guard method is that it's portable across compilers because it uses only standard language features.

Of course if your compiler didn't recognize your pragma directive, it would be complaining about [i][b]that[/b][/i].

[quote name='kilah' timestamp='1317335880' post='4867383']
Aren't you trying to declare and initiailize a global variable on a header?
[/quote]