waiting on multiple signals - pthread

Started by
4 comments, last by the_edd 12 years, 6 months ago
I am building a simple job system that would allow me to create a job graph with dependencies... Something like:

Job root;
Job job1;
Job job1_1;
Job job1_2;
Job job2(&job1, 1); // job2 cannot start until job1 finishes.

job1.addJob(&job1_1);
job1.addJob(&job1_2);
root.addJob(&job1);
root.addJob(&job2);

root.execute(); // execute the job graph.

I am using pthreads to implement this but I am new to this type of programs and I cant find a way to synchronize all this.

I tried using pthread_join to do something like this :

void Job::execute()
{
for(int i = 0; i < numDependencies; ++i)
dependencies.join(); // calling pthread_join

for(int i = 0; i < numSubJobs; ++i)
subJobs.start(); // calling pthread_create

... do some work here

subJobs.join(); // calling pthread_join
}

But my program crash in one of the pthread_join call.

[font="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"]The results of multiple simultaneous calls to pthread_join() specifying the same target thread are undefined.[/font]
[/quote]

How can I achieve the same results but without the crash?

Thanks
Advertisement
You can use condition variables (though I'm not sure if pthread condition variables let you wait on them _after_ they've been pulsed, in which case we'd like thme to return immediately, so you might have to make your own kind on top of pthread condition variables), but in such a use case you'd have each job have its own i_am_finished condition variable, and have each job wait on each of its prerequisites' condition variables before starting.

Another option is to change the API a bit and to have a thread that's in charge of waiting for certain threads to finish and starting threads that may start.
phtread_join is good for waiting for a thread being terminated. This is used to wait for child threads.