Sign in to follow this  
jythonKid

Having problems with arrow key movement.

Hi Guys,

I am relatively new to the java programming language, and am still getting used to the whole "object-oriented" deal. After doing a couple basic graphic setups and very basic programs, I decided I would try to make a program based around movement with the arrow keys (original, I know). I got it working without using booleans or anything, but the movement was extremely jumpy and rough (the sprite would move slightly, then pause, then continue moving faster). So, I started experimenting with booleans and while loops and got it to a point where I figured it should work. The only difficulty I had was determining where to call the moveChar method (which redraws the character with the changed x y values). I fiddled with it for a while, trying different spots and modifying loops and if blocks to fit accordingly. No matter what I tried, I always got the same result. The program would run without error, but the sprite would not move when whichever key was pressed. I have a feeling that the program is getting stuck in one of the while loops, but I'm not sure. Here's the code, I was just wondering if someone could give me a few tips on what I'm doing wrong? Thanks a bundle.

P.S. ignore the comments, I have a phobia of deleting code..

[code]
package Enemies;

import java.awt.*;
import java.awt.event.*;
import java.io.File;

import javax.imageio.ImageIO;
import javax.swing.JFrame;
import java.io.IOException;
import java.awt.Rectangle;

public class Character extends Canvas {

// Read about JFrames and Canvas objects
// http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Java_Programming/Canvas

// Global variable
boolean upmove = false; boolean downmove = false; boolean rightmove = false; boolean leftmove = false;
int myX; int myY;

public Character(int x, int y,JFrame window) {
setSize(new Dimension(window.getWidth(), window.getHeight())); // set size of Canvas