Company Name / Game Titles trademark?

Started by
3 comments, last by Katie 12 years, 6 months ago
My question is simple but it propably has a quite complex answer.

Is it possible to create a new company with the same name after one has stopped doing business ?
I have the same question about clones or similar names of older games.

How can I make sure I can use the trademark without problems?
Advertisement
If you want to be sure to have as few problems as possible: ask a lawyer. Also, just because a business stops doesn't mean it's registered trademarks and assorted are abandoned as well; in fact, it's usually the opposite. Other than that, check out this article on abandonware and do some research on the subject -- it's quite complex and depends very much on the specific circumstances. Assuming that neither the copyright nor the trademark were ever bought up and are truly left abandoned, you should be okay moving forward -- take that with the consideration that I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice...
"I will personally burn everything I've made to the fucking ground if I think I can catch them in the flames."
~ Gabe
"I don't mean to rush you but you are keeping two civilizations waiting!"
~ Cavil, BSG.
"If it's really important to you that other people follow your True Brace Style, it just indicates you're inexperienced. Go find something productive to do."
[size=2]~ Bregma

"Well, you're not alone.

There's a club for people like that. It's called Everybody and we meet at the bar[size=2].

"

[size=2]~

[size=1]Antheus
Thank you for your answer... I've been looking for online resources about checking trademarks, got any to suggest?

Just doing a preliminary search before paying a lawyer to do so...
For US trademarks, use http://www.uspto.gov

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

"Is it possible to create a new company with the same name after one has stopped doing business ?
I have the same question about clones or similar names of older games.