Sign in to follow this  
isochek

programming tasks

Hello Everyone!

I'm a new member here on the forums. Although I've been visiting the past few months (when the thought of writing a game crosses my mind), I have never decided to sign up for an account just because I've been too busy to make an attempt. However, I've come in to some free time and there are ideas frequenting my brain about it quite often.

I graduated high school in 2005, took c++ classes and out of everything in high school its probably the only stuff I can remember (LOL). Not to mention I've purchased a c++ book and I've been learning a lot from it. Seems to go through the motions, and takes a practical approach - it keeps me excited about learning it.

The one issue I find, however, is the lack of ideas of what to program to test my knowledge. I've googled online, read forums about practice ideas but either they're too weak or they're way too complicated for where I'm at. That's kind of why I'm here. I was hoping that someone may be able to give me an idea / task to program something.

So far I'll say I have a good idea of basic programming (basic operators, loops, variables), functions, pointers & references (allocating memory, recalling/changing), and also classes (including deriving, inheritance, private/public/protected class / members and prototyping), using header files and multiple source files, etc.

Could anyone give me an idea that would test my knowledge of these aspects of programming. I don't mind if its fairly vast and even takes a few days. I want to practice it and work my problems out so I understand exactly what I'm doing.

Focus more on gaining experience than "testing your knowledge". Testing for what purpose? A tendency with that is to delay getting any practical experience until you pass certain tests that later prove to be irrelevant.

Try to actually achieve some practical aims that step you towards making a tiny game.
1) Get a window on the screen.