• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Joesavage1

OpenGL Simple side scroller with C++ and OpenGL...

This topic is 2446 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi,

I'm a student from the UK, who has a deep knowledge of C++ (and enough of OpenGL to get me along for now) wanting to make a simple 2D platformer.

I am however having a few issues - namely:

1) Dividing the window into easy "blocks" (or dividing the window into a grid type system).
2) Storing the data for all these "blocks" to allow for collision detection and some special effects on "blocks".

For the former, I really don't have a clue. Presumably the easiest way would be to always work in multiples of a certain number and hence always stick to the imaginary "grid", and for the latter I am thinking some kind of multi-dimensional vector (but my problem with multi-dimensional vectors would be that it would make changing individual blocks a bloody pain).

Does anyone have any tips for me, or if possible - answers to my questions?

Thanks In Advance,

Regards,

Joe

Advertisement

Hi,

I'm a student from the UK, who has a deep knowledge of C++ (and enough of OpenGL to get me along for now) wanting to make a simple 2D platformer.

I am however having a few issues - namely:

1) Dividing the window into easy "blocks" (or dividing the window into a grid type system).
2) Storing the data for all these "blocks" to allow for collision detection and some special effects on "blocks".

For the former, I really don't have a clue. Presumably the easiest way would be to always work in multiples of a certain number and hence always stick to the imaginary "grid", and for the latter I am thinking some kind of multi-dimensional vector (but my problem with multi-dimensional vectors would be that it would make changing individual blocks a bloody pain).