I've been "cowboy coding" on the job most of the time. How do I get away from it?

Started by
29 comments, last by Serapth 12 years, 6 months ago
[font="arial, verdana, tahoma, sans-serif"][font="arial, verdana, tahoma, sans-serif"][font="arial, verdana, tahoma, sans-serif"]Long story short, I have been a web dev guy for about 5 years. So I guess I should be mid-level by now, but I sure don't feel mid-level. Save for one short job, I've been hired by places that require me to fly solo- ie. I'm either the only "tech geek" in the office or there's little opportunity to work with the only other in-house developer. This has lead to stagnating growth in my knowledge base and adopting best practices.[/font][/font][/font]
[font="arial, verdana, tahoma, sans-serif"][font="arial, verdana, tahoma, sans-serif"][font="arial, verdana, tahoma, sans-serif"] [/font][/font][/font]
[font="arial, verdana, tahoma, sans-serif"][font="arial, verdana, tahoma, sans-serif"][font="arial, verdana, tahoma, sans-serif"]I haven't touched upon a lot of stuff concerning formal software development processes, and quickly learned that coding is just a small part of the equation to the process of delivering a software product. As the only coder responsible for a product there really hasn't been enough time devoted to research and refining approaches to fixing problems, so a lot of stuff is done "cut and dry".[/font][/font][/font]
[font="arial, verdana, tahoma, sans-serif"][font="arial, verdana, tahoma, sans-serif"][font="arial, verdana, tahoma, sans-serif"] [/font][/font][/font]