Sign in to follow this  
GuyCalledFrank

Rendering stereoscopic 3D without stereo drivers

Hi there! I'm a graphics programmer and been told to make the game compatible with eMagin Z800 device WITH some stereo effect.
After researching a bit, I found that nvidia stereo drivers are not supported anymore.
So the only way to use the device is just plugging it as monitor and rendering simple flat image in 800x600.

What exactly stereo drivers did? rendering images for two eyes with interlacing very fast? rendering each eye to a half of the output?
Maybe I can simulate them if set up rendering correctly and mess with pixel shaders a bit?

[quote name='Mr_F_' timestamp='1318682203' post='4872814']
Hi there! I'm a graphics programmer and been told to make the game compatible with eMagin Z800 device WITH some stereo effect.
After researching a bit, I found that nvidia stereo drivers are not supported anymore.
So the only way to use the device is just plugging it as monitor and rendering simple flat image in 800x600.

What exactly stereo drivers did? rendering images for two eyes with interlacing very fast? rendering each eye to a half of the output?
Maybe I can simulate them if set up rendering correctly and mess with pixel shaders a bit?
[/quote]

Hi.

I have some experience with older types of eMagin 3D glasses from the point of a graphic programmer and not just user (gamer). Nothing of the further mentioned required any special nVidia 3D drivers!

The glasses had two separate VGA inputs and thus allowed you to choose the mode where you simply provided two pictures, one for each eye. This worked quite well, you simply had to create a dualhead device and render each "eye" separately, each with a slightly shifted camera position.