• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
omniscient232

Creating our own engine

This topic is 2611 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello,

I hope my post isn't too long, sorry for that, but I'm posed to a dilemma.
I'm a game designer, and I'm about to start a team with about 7 programmers. all of us are second year students, 2 of the programmers seem to have more experience than the rest. We're about to start a game project, and are doing it while still in school, so we'll have a maximum of about 10-15 hours per week per person to work on it.
some of the programmers seem to want to make a game with their own engine.
My first reaction is that i'm a bit sceptical about that. From my point of view, our goal is to create a game that is as good as possible, and creates a great experience for the player.
Having to create our own engine seems to me to just be another unnecessary burden, because we could much more easily use an existing one. They want to make their own engine, because it interests them.
The engine would be made using the XNA framework.

My questions are these:
How hard is it to make our own engine? Would this be a serious burden on the designers and artists to do their work? would it decrease our possibilities significantly?
Would we be unable to do things like post-processing, or stuff like that? The Unity3D team consists of a couple dozen professionals, who work 40hrs/week on it, It seems to me that it is simply impossible for us to come even close to an engine of that quality, and then we wouldn't even have started programming the game itself.

Is my scepticism correct?

And let's say I'm correct, and I can convince the programmers not to use their own engine, what would be the best option if we would still go for the XNA framework?

3. And a third question: