• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

F_r_e_s_h

Sprite sequences

This topic is 6173 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Ive recently started to write a modest size stratergie game ani think i have got a majority of the graphics, input and sound engine all working okay. But ive sorta come to a problem. How would you deffine different sequences for sprites etc running, shottin or just idle? Like i know how to do it hard coded into the program but i want to make it so i can change all this sort of stuff from a a data file. Sorry im not very good at explaining what i mean but basically im asking how you would tell the program from a data file that when the sprite is going left to play frames 3 through to 8 or something like that. Thanks.

Advertisement
Create a struct with the frame information, then write the struct to your data file.

For example:

#define MAX_ACTIONS 16
#define MAX_FRAMES 16

#define ACTION_IDLE 0
#define ACTION_WALK 1
#define etc...

typedef struct SPRITE
{
char szBitmap[MAX_PATH];
WORD numActions[MAX_ACTIONS];
WORD numFramesPerAction[MAX_ACTIONS][MAX_FRAMES];
POINT ptActionOffset[MAX_ACTIONS][MAX_FRAMES];
}

Edited by - Anarchi on September 25, 2001 11:25:13 PM

A simple method I picked up from Andre LaMothe''s Teach Yourself Game Programming in 21 Days (gee, that was 5/6 years ago!) is to decide what size you want your sprites to be and then create a grid of "cells" in a bitmap file. In each cell have a frame of animation which can be changed independently of the program code.