• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
PointMan

DX11 [SlimDX] D3D11 From D3D9

This topic is 2600 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

A couple years ago I built a procedural terrain generation engine/app in SlimDX. Back then I did it in D3D9. I've since returned to the project and decided to get the latest from SlimDX, and give it a go with D3D11 - and not surprisingly I'm having issues. I'm completely new to D3D11 and - even though D3D10 was around back then - I'm unfamiliar with it as well.

So far, from following tutorials, I can create some triangles. I probably know enough to manipulate them a bit with shaders - but that's about it.

I will list some concepts and class/keywords for which I'm having trouble porting/upgrading - if you can provide help or links to documentation, that would be greatly appreciated.

1. Camera - I have found next to no documentation on camera implementation in SlimDX11. I can still use my old camera class which basically just holds the vector3s representing things like position and target. I can even manipulate these values from keyboard/mouse input. The problem is how to actually affect the D3D11 camera. In D3D9, I would initialize my camera (projection/view) using:

transformMatrix = Matrix.PerspectiveFovLH((float)Math.PI / 4, this.Width / this.Height, 0.001f, 100000f);

device.SetTransform(TransformState.Projection, transformMatrix);

For D3D11 there is no device.SetTranform(), and I cannot find any SetTransform() anywhere. Every tutorial/sample with SlimDX (11) uses a static camera.

2. Device.SetRenderState() - In D3D9 I used this to set several values, including lighting, cullmode, primitive fill mode. Any ideas on D3D11 implementation?