• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
drake7707

[SlimDX][SM4.0] Feedback requested

This topic is 2603 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi,

Over the past month or so I've dabbled into XNA4.0 and SlimDX to create a voxel engine. I am completely new at DirectX and related frameworks, but I've written a raytracer in C# before and my work involves pressing keys to form c# code, so I know my way around C#.

I know what you might be thinking, yet another another one wanting to mimic minecraft and while it's certainly true that I take elements from it, the main reason was to create a platform where i can experiment with procedural content generation in 3D, without the need to make 3D models to get anything remotely feasible (and 2D -> 3D , pixels -> voxels is just easier to interpret :P).

Anyway, I've had some success writing stuff, but being completely new I probably made a lot of newbie mistakes. Things like you shouldn't initialize your shader this way, you shouldn't use constant buffers in that way, etc, etc. It's those things that I would like to eliminate and this is why I need some feedback from more experienced users. I had a hard time finding examples that would suit my needs (I probably looked in the wrong place), so I experimented a lot.

If you look into the code, the parts I'm most concerned about is the AbstractDXManager and DXManager, those contain the initialization parts and the voxelshader.fx, which contains the vertex, geometry and pixel shader.

To briefly describe how the engine works:

- The terrain manager has an array of chunks, each chunk has an array of cells (blocks).

- Each chunk has a vertex buffer, when a cell changes, the vertex buffer is scheduled to be rebuild (in a seperate thread, running in the ChunkRebuilder class). The vertex buffer contains 1 vertex per voxel, of type VoxelVertex.