• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Slightly amibitious I know

This topic is 2299 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey there,

I'm new to the world of game programming, and I'm only familiar with HTML and CSS, so I understand it'll be no walk in the park.

Can anyone show me any tutorials they found really helpful? I'm not looking to design the next big thing, just maybe a small little village game which I can experiment with, and keep adding too.

Thank you,
Ryan

Advertisement
What you need to learn depends on what type of game you want to develop, and it also depends on which platform you intend to target.

For example...

- browser-based, tick-based games: learn a web programming language like PHP (and MySQL will help, too)
- real-time, 2D games deployable via browser: learn Flash/ActionScript
- real-time, 3D games deployable via browser: check out Unity, or learn Java and deploy via applet
- downloadable 2D games: use Game Maker, or learn C++ and a 2D library like Allegro or SDL, or learn Java, or learn ____ (many different options here)
- downloadable 3D games: learn C++ and a 3D engine like Irrlicht or Ogre, or learn Java and look into 3D graphics
- mobile games for Android: learn Java and check out the Android SDK, or check out App Game Kit

There are many other options for each type of game, of course, but those are a few examples.

To offer a starting point, we'll need to know more about what type of game you actually want to develop.

It would definitely be a browser game, where you don't have to download anything, and I'd do everything I could to stay away from Flash - so a basic 2D game would be fine.