• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
poker9989

Directx Application

This topic is 2540 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all,
I'm new to DirectX and I have an example of a DirectX program, however I only have the application file and not the code but would like to see how the program runs through the code.
Is there any way to extract the coding part from the application so that I can view it?
Thanks for your time.

Advertisement

Hi all,
I'm new to DirectX and I have an example of a DirectX program, however I only have the application file and not the code but would like to see how the program runs through the code.
Is there any way to extract the coding part from the application so that I can view it?
Thanks for your time.

No you cannot. It would also be illegal. Get the free XNA dev kit. It has a lot of examples, tuts, etc... That should get you going.

www.XNA.com

[quote name='directcplus' timestamp='1320265679' post='4879849']
Hi all,
Thanks for your time.

No you cannot. It would also be illegal. Get the free XNA dev kit. It has a lot of examples, tuts, etc... That should get you going.

www.XNA.com
[/quote]

FWIW decomplation/reverse engineering is not illegal, per se, it's just that some EULAs forbid it in the interest of protecting trade secrets or whatever the justification is. With that said, though, MJP hit the nail on the head. Realistically, you're only going to be able to get back to (likely x86) assembly language, which makes the process of understanding the code a billion times harder due to structuring/optimization, etc. If you want to learn how Direct3D works, yoink the DXSDK from MSDN and go through the samples.

Hi all,
Thanks for your time.