• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
minanda

Absolute beginner...!

This topic is 2472 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all. Basically i'm hoping to work in games development in the future, at college at the moment and will be starting a computer science degree next september. Now basically, i started learning Python, but the more I read on the net the more unsure I am of whether to carry on with this, start learning C# or just jump straight into C++.

Anyone have a clue? pass it this way please =)

Thanks!

Advertisement
Python is a really good starting point, so I can really recommend you continue what you're doing now
Looking into C# and/or Java would also be a good idea if you're eventually planning on moving to C++, since these are all C-derivatives with a good amount of common concepts

C++ is not a good candidate for starting out since you'll have to keep a lot of things in mind which keep you away from the actual programming part; these things are taken care of for you by higher level languages like the ones mentioned above, so you can completely focus on learning general programming concepts

I hope this helps, and good luck ;)

'C++ is not a good candidate for starting out since you'll have to keep a lot of things in mind which keep you away from the actual programming part' yeah i read somewhere that starting with C++ is like starting to learn maths with advanced calculus, that's why i started with python. Just so many different views it gets confusing!

Thank you for the help, i'll carry on as I am =)