• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Pitt

Getting good at C++ and 3D game programming

This topic is 2565 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, first I want to describe my background:

-I'm an Electrical Engineer that has some good background in C/C++.
-As a engineer, I also took Linear Algebra and Calculus, so I have some knowledge on that too.
-I've done some 2D games with Allegro and SDL (Pong, Tetris, Asteroids).
-As for the API, I prefer OpenGL if it's as capable as DirectX (I'm probably stupid for saying that, but I really don't know OpenGL and DirectX capabilities; I also heard that OpenGL is tougher to be used with OOP).

My goal is to be awesome at C++/Math for gaming/3D engines, so I can make my own engine and a RTS game. I know it will take years to happen, but I'm willing to do that.

Althought I have this background, I feel like I must get better at C++, especially in OOP. As for Math, It'd be cool to get a book focused on math for gaming, but if I don't need to get too heavy/deep on theory I'd prefer.

So, what books/tutorials do you guys recommend? Taking a course is not really an option (Unless it's online), as I live in Brazil and we do not have good courses here.

Sorry about my english and thanks in advance!

Advertisement
My horrifically over-engineered, ongoing and never ending Pong Tutorial™ demonstrates using ( modern ) C++ and OOP. I would personally recommend starting there :) To be honest, most C++ tutorials out there teach a pretty piss poor style, or are so outdated they are still basically stuck in the C++ as a better C mode.