• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
AdamShultz

Python/Pygame 2D Isometric Tile Map Editor

This topic is 2592 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm still very new to programming. In fact, the only language I know to any respectable extent is Python, along with the pygame libraries.

With that said, I've been developing this map editor for the last month or so, and I just started re-writing it to conform to the Model-View-Controller (MVC) architecture. This is mainly for two reasons:

A) It will be extremely easy to pickle and unpickle maps this way.
B) It will be extremely simple to implement multiplayer support for maps this way.

To my understanding, in MVC there are three base classes used; Model, View, and Controller, which are all attributes of a class Game (or Program, the lowest level object in an application).

Basically, I create a Model as an attribute to Game, which stores all data and values related to the map.

Then, I create a View as an attribute to Game which has a reference to the Model object, and is supposed to reference resources for the Model's attributes as well as handle rendering and camera and everything else related to what you see.

Finally, I have the Controller as an attribute to Game which has a reference to both the Model object and the View object. This handles user I/O and changes values in both the Model and the View when necessary.