• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
HenryO'Callaghan

Help!

This topic is 2594 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi,

I am new to the developing community and I was writing a small app for my french class and I need some help. I just can't figure it out. I want you to be able to select the menu and I can't get the syntax right. Tips on developing also welcome!

#include <iostream.h>

using namespace std;

int a;

int main(){

int b;

cout << "Welcome to the interactive Cafe Les Cinq E'Toiles Menu. Please Select 1 for Bevrages, 2 for Entrees, and 3 for Dessert.";
cin >> a;

if (a = 1)

cout << "Bevrage Menu. Cafe de Lait: 2€50 Cafe de Creme: 3€ ";
cin >> b;

else if (a = 2)

cout << "Entree Menu. ";
cin >> b;

else if (a = 3)

cout << "Dessert Menu. ";
cin>> b;

system("pause");

}

[size="1"]Poll removed, please see the forum FAQ. -- jpetrie

Advertisement
Well, your main problems lies in the fact that you use = in trying to compare values (= stands for assignment; you must use == for "equals" evaluation) and lack of {} to denote the bodies of the if statements. When you write an if statement without { } denoting the beginning and ending of it's body, it will only apply to the statement that follows immediately after it while the rest will be unaffected. For example, suppose you have the following

if(a == 1)
someStatement();
someOtherStatement();

in this case, someStatement() will be executed only if a equals 1, but someOtherStatement() will always be executed. In order to encompass more than two statements, you need to surround the body with {} like so

if(a == 1)
{
someStatement();
someOtherStatement();
}

in which case, both statements will execute only if a equals 1.