• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
lordimmortal2

Class Template Error

This topic is 2587 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I just tried to replace some classes and functions with templates to reduce some code substantially and seeing as how it's my first time using templates and inheritance, there's some confusing errors. I'm using C++.

I've worked it into getting errors such as this:
error C2440: '=' : cannot convert from 'cLinkedList<T> *const ' to 'cEntity *'
1> with
1> [
1> T=cEntity
1> ]
1> Cast from base to derived requires dynamic_cast or static_cast
1> c:\users\owner\documents\visual studio 2010\projects\rpg\rpg\clinkedlist.cpp(9) : while compiling class template member function 'int cLinkedList<T>::FindEmptyID(void)'
1> with
1> [
1> T=cEntity
1> ]

And I'm quite confused about how to fix this.

Relevant code:

cLinkedList.h:
#pragma once

template <class T>
class cLinkedList
{
public:
T *next;

int FindEmptyID();

T * ScanListPrevious(int ID);
T * ScanList(int ID);
T * ScanListEnd(); // Returns the last entity in the list
};

cLinkedList.cpp:
#include "cLinkedList.h"

#include "cTile.h"
#include "cEntity.h"

template <class T>
int cLinkedList <T>::FindEmptyID()
{
T *dummy, *dummyNext;

if(this != 0)
{
dummy = this;

while(true)
{
dummyNext = dummy->next;

if(dummyNext == 0)
{
// Impossible to dicern the next ID, assume that the final one in the list is the last ID
return dummy->ID + 1;
}
if(dummyNext->ID - dummy->ID > 1)
// This checks if there is a break between ID numbers and returns ID + 1 which fills the hole
return dummy->ID + 1;

dummy = dummy->next;
}
}
else
{
// Error, no root
}
}

template <class T>
T * cLinkedList <T>::ScanListPrevious(int ID)
{
T *previous; // Dummy struct that contains the previous node
T *listTraverse; // Dummy struct to check if there is a next node as we traverse