• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Phantom5800

Texturing question (probably trivial)

This topic is 2592 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

This is my first time writing a graphics engine and I have run in to something that doesn't make sense to me. I am able to load textures into my resource manager just fine, but when I try to do some drawing tests I get incorrect results when attempting to draw two separate textures.

After binding the first texture, I draw a quad using glBegin/glEnd (I know, bad, but I'm just starting this and wanted to test my texture loading before going further), then I do the same for the second. However, both quads are drawn with the second texture.

Here is the relevant code (if you need to see my texture loading code as well, I can post that, but I am pretty sure I am just doing something stupid here):

Texture_GL *tex1 = dynamic_cast<Texture_GL*>(g_resources->GetResource("sample1.png"));
if (tex1)
{
glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE0, tex1->m_glid);
std::cout << "Bound sample1.png, id = " << tex1->m_glid << std::endl;
}

glBegin(GL_QUADS);
glTexCoord2f(1.0f, 1.0f);
glVertex3f(0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f);

glTexCoord2f(1.0f, 0.0f);
glVertex3f(1.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f);

glTexCoord2f(0.0f, 0.0f);
glVertex3f(1.0f, 1.0f, 0.0f);

glTexCoord2f(0.0f, 1.0f);
glVertex3f(0.0f, 1.0f, 0.0f);
glEnd();

Texture_GL *barry = dynamic_cast<Texture_GL*>(g_resources->GetResource("Barry.png"));
if (barry)
{
glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE0, barry->m_glid);
std::cout << "Bound Barry.png, id = " << barry->m_glid << std::endl;
}

glBegin(GL_QUADS);
glTexCoord2f(1.0f, 1.0f);
glVertex3f(-0.5f, 0.0f, -1.0f);

glTexCoord2f(1.0f, 0.0f);
glVertex3f(0.5f, 0.0f, -1.0f);

glTexCoord2f(0.0f, 0.0f);
glVertex3f(0.5f, 1.0f, -1.0f);

glTexCoord2f(0.0f, 1.0f);
glVertex3f(-0.5f, 1.0f, -1.0f);
glEnd();