• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Akaisanlahti

Advice (mainly) on beginning 2D graphics

This topic is 2587 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello there. I'm a beginner programmer who would like advice mainly on how to get started in implementing graphics, sound - essentially the stuff that I'm not in charge of making as a programmer. I have done a little bit of C++, although I'm keeping it on hold until my degree programme goes through it, unless there's a reason to start it again before that. Until then, I'm probably doing C#, which is what we're using with the basics. Sometimes the amount of readily usable stuff horrifies me compared to C++, but I guess I can manage that.

At the moment I'm applying the tools and knowledge I get/discover to console applications, which does teach me a lot. I haven't actually programmed any games yet, I'm just curious on how to implement certain ideas in general as well as applying it to the console, such as moving a char representing the player around (the legendary @), checking for obstacles before moving, how to handle moving in a menu and so on. At first I "bruteforce" my idea through so that it at least works as intended and then I usually come up with solutions to actually making it better, more general and easier.